Home / sports / Sammy stars of Rajshahi’s 30-run victory in BPL
Sammy stars of Rajshahi's 30-run victory in BPL
Sammy stars of Rajshahi's 30-run victory in BPL

Sammy stars of Rajshahi’s 30-run victory in BPL

Sammy stars of Rajshahi’s 30-run victory in BPL

A breezy knock by skipper Darren Sammy followed by Mohammad Sami’s fierce bowling spells saw Rajshahi Kings recorded a 30-run victory over Comilla Victorians in the 27th match of Bangladesh Premier League T20 held on Saturday at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium.

Chasing a massive winning target of 186 runs set by Rajshahi, Comilla Victorians found the chase stiff and finally all out for 155 in 19.1 overs, despite fighting knocks by Tamim Iqbal and Shoaib Malik.

Sami struck early on Victorians innings as the dismissed opener Fakhar Zaman for 2 in the last ball of his first over. Mehedy Hasan then sent back to Imrul Kayes for a duck, leaving Victorians in a deep trouble.

Another opener Tamim Iqbal pairing with Pakistani batsman Shoaib Malik contributed 87-run for the third wicket stand to take Victorians to a comfortable position before Dwayne Smith broke the partnership removing Malik.

The right handed batsman Malik well composed 26-ball off 45 runs studded with five boundaries and two over boundaries backed to the dressing room giving a return catch to Smith while Sami scalped the wicket of Tamim who smacked 45-ball off 63 runs, in innings that studded with four fours and three sixes.

After the departure of two set batsmen, Victorians could not come back in the match losing wickets in regular intervals.

Besides, Hasan Ali (16) fell to Mustafizur while Jos Buttler (15) perished to Franklin.

Sami finished with an impressive figure of four wickets for 9 in four overs. He was well supported by Dwayne Smith and Mustafizur Rahman who both claimed two wickets giving away 2 and 32 runs respectively.

Earlier, cameo blaze by skipper Darren Sammy helped Rajshahi Kings to post a daunting total of 185 for 7 from their allotted 20 overs, after they were forced to bat first by Victorians.

The West Indies big hitting batsman Sammy played an unbeaten knock of 14-ball off 47 run hitting six towering sixes and one boundary to guide Rajshahi to put a massive winning target in front of Victorians.

Earlier, the two Rajshahi openers – Mominul Haque (23) and Dwayne Smith (19) put a 43-run opening stand before Saifuddin struck on Rajshahi innings removing Smith making him clean bowled.

Saifuddin scalped his second wicket haul as he sent back to English batsman Luke Wright, who played a classy 36-ball off 42 runs with the help of four boundaries.

Zakir Hasan (20) and James Franklin (14) were the other notable scorers for Rajshahi Kings. Saifuddin finished three for 50 runs in his name in four overs while Hasan Ali took two for 38. Rajshahi skipper Darren Sammy was named the player of the match for his entertaining knocks. bss

Share this post :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Ronaldo? Real must worry about Lewandowski – Heynckes

MUNICH, Germany – Jupp Heynckes says Real Madrid should worry about Robert ...